Black Friday Sale!

Looking for a unique gift?

Twenty brand-new hardcover books, each signed by the author, are available in the bookstore now.

space
space

Sneeze, Big Bear, Sneeze Sneeze, Big Bear, Sneeze! by Maureen Wright and Will Hillenbrand

Big Bear thinks that his tremendous sneezes are causing the leaves and apples to fall off the trees and the geese to fly away, but when the wind finally convinces him otherwise, he knows what to do. (Ages 4 to 8 )

space

Heart and SoulHeart and Soul: The Story of America and African Americans by Kadir Nelson

“The dramatic oil paintings heighten the dignity of this story, whether they are of well-known historical figures, common folk or landscape…This intimate narrative makes the stories accessible to young readers and powerfully conveys how personal this history feels for many African-Americans.”–Kirkus Reviews (Ages 8 to 11)

space

Chanukah LightsChanukah Lights by Michael J. Rosen and Robert Sabuda

From a pop-up master and an acclaimed poet and author comes a glorious celebration of the true spirit of Chanukah. Open this beautiful gift book and follow the Festival of Lights through place and time. Full color.

space

A Ball for DaisyA Ball for Daisy by Chris Raschka

In the tradition of his nearly wordless picture book Yo! Yes?, Caldecott Medalist Raschka explores in pictures the joy and sadness that having a special toy can bring. Full color. (Ages 3 to 6)

space

Addie on the InsideAddie on the Inside by James Howe

Outspoken thirteen-year-old Addie Carle learns about love, loss, and staying true to herself as she navigates seventh grade, enjoys a visit from her grandmother, fights with her boyfriend, and endures gossip and meanness from her former best friend. (Ages 10 to 14)

space

The Hum and the ShiverThe Hum and the Shiver by Alex Bledsoe

Private Bronwyn Hyatt returns from Iraq wounded in body and in spirit, only to face the very things that drove her away in the first place: her family, her obligations to the Tufa, and her dangerous ex-boyfriend. But more trouble lurks in the mountains and hollows of her childhood home.

space

WonderstruckWonderstruck by Brian Selznick

Playing with the form he created in his trailblazing debut novel, The Invention of Hugo Cabret, Caldecott Medalist Selznick once again sails into uncharted territory and takes readers on an awe-inspiring journey. (Ages 9 to 12)

space

Carry the OneCarry the One by Carol Anshaw

Carry the One begins in the hours following Carmen’s wedding reception, when a car filled with stoned, drunk, and sleepy guests accidently hits and kills a girl on a dark, country road. For the next twenty-five years, those involved, including Carmen and her brother and sister, connect and disconnect and reconnect with each other and their victim. As one character says, “When you add us up, you always have to carry the one.

space

Liar's MoonLiar’s Moon by Elizabeth C. Bunce

Prisons, poisons, and passions combine in a gorgeously written fantasy noir by the author of the Morris Award-winning A CURSE DARK AS GOLD.

space

The Magnificent MedillsThe Magnificent Medills: America’s Royal Family of Journalism During a Century of Turbulent Splendor by Megan McKinney

In the vein of Alan Brinkley’s “The Publisher: Henry Luce and His American Century” and Katharine Graham’s “Personal History” comes the first comprehensive chronicle of the Medill family–a riveting true story of the country’s first media dynasty whose power and influence shaped the story of America for four generations.

space

UnwantedsUnwanteds by Lisa McMann

From the bestselling author of the Wake trilogy. In a society that purges 13-year-olds who are creative, identical twins Aaron and Alex are separated, one to attend University while the other, supposedly Eliminated, finds himself in a wondrous place where youths hone their abilities and learn magic. (Ages 10 to 14)

space

Death WatchDeath Watch by Ari Berk

When 17-year-old Silas Umber’s father disappears, Silas is sure it is connected to the powerful artifact he discovers, combined with his father’s hidden hometown history, which compels Silas to pursue the path leading to his destiny and ultimately, to the discovery of his father, dead or alive. (Ages 13 to 17)

space

Queen of AmericaQueen of America by Luis Alberto Urrea

A gritty, bold, and much-anticipated sequel to The Hummingbird’s Daughter… Fiercely romantic and at times heart-breaking but also full of humor, Urrea’s latest novel blends fairy tale, Western adventure, folk tale, and historical drama. Fans of Hummingbird and readers new to Urrea’s work will surely enjoy this magnificent, epic novel.”– Library Journal

space

The OrchardThe Orchard Theresa Weir

The Orchard is the story of a street-smart city girl who must adapt to a new life on an apple farm after she falls in love with Adrian Curtis, the golden boy of a prominent local family whose lives and orchards seem to be cursed. Married after only three months, young Theresa finds life with Adrian on the farm far more difficult and dangerous than she expected.

space

Faithful Unto DeathFaithful Unto Death by Becky Thacker

Benzonia, Michigan, 1894: a sleepy Congregationalist community, dedicated to the education of hardworking and virtuous young people of both sexes and all races. Anna Spencer Thacker is the daughter of missionaries, a faithful wife, and mother of five, pious to a fault. She is suddenly stricken with a mysterious ailment that soon proves fatal. Was it truly an unfortunate illness? Or was it murder—or suicide?

space

PiePie by Sarah Weeks

When Alice’s Aunt Polly passes away, she takes with her the secret to her world-famous pie-crust recipe. Or does she? In her will, Polly leaves the recipe to her extraordinarily surly cat Lardo . . . and then leaves Lardo in the care of Alice. Suddenly Alice is thrust into the center of a piestorm, with everyone in town trying to be the next pie-contest winner. (Ages 9 to 12)

space

The Taste of SaltThe Taste of Salt by Martha Southgate

Award-winning novelist Martha Southgate (who, in the words of Julia Glass, can write fat and hot, then lush and tender, then just plain truthful and burning with heart ) now tells the story of a family pushed to its limits by addiction over the course of two generations.

space

American Boy by Larry Watson

“We were exposed to these phenomena in order that we might learn something, but of course the lessons we learn are not always those we are taught . . .”
So begins Matthew Garth’s story of the fall of 1962, when the shooting of a young woman on Thanksgiving Day sets off a chain of unsettling events in Willow Falls, Minnesota.

space

Good GracesGood Graces by Lesley Kagan

“A…spot on sequel to her bestselling debut, Whistling in the Dark. Kagen does a remarkable job of balancing the goofiness of an eleven-year-old with the sinister plot points, creating a suspenseful yarn that still retains an air of genuine innocence. Readers who enjoyed the first story are in for a treat.”
–Publishers Weekly

space

ApothecaryThe Apothecary by Maile Meloy

This first novel for young readers by the acclaimed author of “A Family Daughter” follows a 14-year-old American girl whose life unexpectedly transforms when she moves to London in 1952 and gets swept up in a race to save the world from nuclear war. Illustrations. (Ages 10 to 14)

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s